Charger recognized as all-state news publication; 2 students win state competitions

The Charger was recognized by the Kansas Scholastic Press Association as an All-Kansas news publication for the second year in a row.

The All-Kansas ranking is determined by several criteria. Publications submit three issues from the year, and judges use a rubric that includes writing, design, photography and editorial leadership.

The publication, first recognized as All-Kansas in 2021, was the only 1-3A school recognized in the last two years. The next smallest school recognized was 4A Bishop Miege, with an enrollment of almost 400 students more than Wabaunsee.

“It’s really cool. We put out a lot of issues for a school our size, so it’s nice to be recognized for what we’ve accomplished this year,” editor in chief Emma Alderman said.

In addition, two Charger writers won state championships in the KSPA writing contests. Emma Alderman placed first in news writing, and AJ Grutsch placed first in film review.

Other state placers were Alderman, third in copy editing, Mayah Mumpower, sixth in copy editing and Justin Carlson, sixth in cutline writing.

At an awards ceremony Saturday at KU, Emma Alderman was also recognized as the 1-2A Journalist of the Year, an award that was announced earlier this year.

“I’m tremendously proud of this staff and all of the work they’ve done this year,” adviser Brendan Praeger said. “We had several new staff members and we’ve faced some tough decisions throughout the year. To publish more than 30 issues and rank among the best publications in the state is a huge accomplishment.” 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: